Delete Account Facebook

Delete Account FacebookFacebook can be really great most of the time – after all, it didn’t get to be the world’s most famous and most popular social network by chance.

Delete Account Facebook

Delete Account FacebookBut there are times when you might not want to use it anymore and are thinking about whether you should delete your account on Facebook or not. There are some important things to keep in mind when making this decision:

  • Deleting an account on Facebook is permanent; the information can’t be retrieved and the account can’t be reactivated.
  • You have the alternative of deactivating your Facebook account instead.
  • Deleting your Facebook account won’t actually delete everything. For example, private messages you’ve sent will still be visible in the recipient’s inbox.
  • It can take 90 days for everything to be deleted, but it won’t be visible to anyone during this time.

If your hiatus from Facebook is temporary (for example, you’re applying for college or a job), you’re better off deactivating, which means your profile won’t be searchable and nothing will be visible to anyone, but you can reactivate your profile any time you want.

How to desactivate Facebook account

Go to your account settings by clicking the little down arrow in the upper right-hand corner of the screen. From there, go to “Security”, and then click on “Deactivate Account”. Follow the on screen steps to confirm you want to deactivate.

If you plan on never using Facebook again, and want all of your information deleted from their servers permanently, here’s how to delete your Facebook account.

How to delete Facebook account

It’s a good idea to back up your Facebook data just in case you change your mind. Go to your settings again, and then find the link at the bottom that says “download Facebook data”.

Next, go to the delete account page (make sure you’re signed in with the account you want to delete) here: https://www.facebook.com/help/delete_account, click “delete my account” and follow the on screen steps to confirm.

 

Delete Account Facebook, desactivate, remove facebook account, close a facebook account